The Patient Portal Previously Used To Make Payments Is No Longer Active. Any Payments Prior to June 7th Will Need To Call The Billing Company.

Gluten Free Diet or Celiac Diet


 

Who needs to eat a gluten-free diet?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale, malt and some oats. A gluten-free diet is used to treat Celiac Disease and may be considered in patients thought to have a gluten sensitivity or diarrhea-predominant irritable bowel syndrome. A gluten-free diet helps control signs and symptoms and prevent long-term complications; it is the only treatment for Celiac Disease.

Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley
  • Malt (including malt flavoring and malt vinegar)
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat (all types of wheat including whole, bromated, enriched, phosphate, self-rishing)
  • Alternate forms of wheat -
    • Bulgar
    • Durum
    • Farina
    • Graham
    • Kamut
    • Semolina
    • Spelt
      • *Speak with your doctor to determine if you need to avoid oats


Unless specifically labeled gluten-free, avoid:

  • Beer
  • Bread and bread products like croutons, crackers, and matzo
  • Baked goods like cake, cookies, cupcakes, muffins, scones, doughnuts, and pie
  • Cereal
  • Oats (if permitted per your doctor or dietician)
  • Pasta
  • Soup and soup-bases
  • Soy sauce


Read ingredients and/or speak with servers to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients have been used:

  • Candy
  • Deep-fried foods, even if non-gluten based like french fries and tortilla chips
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Processed deli meats
  • Salad dressings, sauces, and gravies
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods like potato chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Any gluten-free food that has been contaminated 
    • Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. It can happen during the manufacturing process or during food preparation at home or in a restaurant. It is important to read labels and handle foods carefully. Always speak with servers about your dietary restrictions when dining out.
      • *In addition to foods and beverages that may contain gluten, check that all vitamins and medications are gluten-free by reading bottles, speaking to your pharmacist, or calling companies directly


Allowed Foods:

  • Fresh, unprocessed foods like beans, meat, poultry, fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and nuts
  • Most dairy products
  • Gluten-free grains & flours
    • Amaranth
    • Arrowroot
    • Buckwheat
    • Corn and cornmeal
    • Flax
    • Hominy (corn)
    • Millet
    • Potato
    • Quinoa
    • Rice
    • Sorghum
    • Soy
    • Tapioca
    • Teff


Switching to a gluten-free diet can be challenging but there are many substitutes and resources. Meet with our dietitian for additional information on how to live healthfully gluten-free.